Takhar University

Background and current circumstances of Takhar University

Takhar University was established by Professor Burhanuddin Rabbani leader of Jamiat Islami Afghanistan and martyr of peace in the month of Aqrab 1370 (i.e October 1991) in Peshawar-Pakistan under the name of "Abdullah Ibn Massoud and it was transfered to Toloqan city in 1373. By the year 1374 it was registered in the Ministry of Higher Education and in the same year it started its academic activities, establishing two faculties (law and agriculture).

As any other universities in Afghanistan Takhar University was closed for students the during Taliban era. Takhar University restarted its activities containing four faculties (law, literature, agriculture and education) after the establishment of Temporary government in Afghanistan in 1381. It was transfered to its new building which is located in Wortabuz (an erea 5KMs west of Toloqan City) in the month of Hoot - 1378. By the begaining of 1388 it started its academic and administrative activities in two buildings (law faculties administrative and teaching buildings) and engineering faculty which was planned in the framework of this university was activated in early 1389. Currently (i.e 2017) Takhar university has Seven faculties and  27 departments. And they are:

1.      Islamic Law (Sharia) faculty which contains departments of lslamic Studies,Jurisprudence and law,Belief and Islamic culture.

2.      Agriculture faculty has three departments which are: Agricultural economics extension, Horticulture, and Livestock.

3.      Education faculty which contains departments: History, Geography, Mathematics, physic, Chemistry, Biology, Dari Language and literature, and Computer Science.

4.      Language and literature faculty which contains departments:  English, Dari, Pashto and Uzbeki.

5.      Engineering faculty has two department: Civil Engineering, Electronics, and Geology and Mine

6.      Economics Faculty has two Departments: BBA, Finance and Banking

7.      Law & Political Science Faculty has two Departments which are: Justice and Attorney, and Administrative and Diplomacy

Currently 7000 students are studying in Takhar University in 2017, which 2000 are femal students and 5000 are male students.Takhar University has 153 lecturers, among these 17 of them are female lecturers and 136 are male and they are shown as follow:

•          PhD degree - 1

 •         Studying PhD Degree- 5

•          Master's degree - 46

•          Studying for master's degree: 38

•          Bachelor's degree: 63 

Table 1: Academic Ranking of Lecturers in 2017

Junior Teaching Assist.Nominated Junior Teaching Assistant Teaching Assistant Nominated Teaching Assistant Senior Teaching Assistant Assistant Professor Associate Professor Professor
Female Male Female Male Female Male Female Male Female Male Female Male Female Male Female Male
0 2 6 70 0 1 4 39 2 23 0 3 0 3 0 0
Total= 153